Thu 25 September 2014

European Ryder Cup captain Paul McGinley has invited golfers from around the world to play the new North Course at Quinta d​o​ Lago - home of World Golf Awards 2014.

All eyes will be on the course, situated in The Algarve, Portugal, ahead of its reopening in October.

Redesigned by renowned American architect Beau Welling in close collaboration with McGinley, the new layout has been built to the highest specifications and is in line to become the new number one course.

“Golf at Quinta do Lago just gets better and better,” said European Ryder Cup captain Paul McGinley.“

I invite you to be one of the first to join me in playing our new creation at Quinta do Lago. This is something we are very proud of; a course that is set to become one of the most enjoyable golf experiences in mainland Europe.”

Golfers are invited to compete to become one of the first to play the new North Course by entering a new competition win an exclusive weeks at the course for two.

The following month World Golf Awards will be welcomed to the course as it hosts its inaugural Gala Ceremony at Conrad Algarve from November 13th-16th.

Among the highlights of the event will be a chance to play on the newly renovated North Course, with the World Golf Classic Golf Competition to be held on the day of the Gala Ceremony, Saturday, November 15th.

Everything from a chauffeur driven airport pick-up, to a full 18-holes of golf on both the Friday and Saturday, with food and beverages supplied, will be included in the World Golf Awards weekend package.

The presentation of the awards on the Saturday evening will form the centrepiece of a three-day itinerary for the event, allowing guests to enjoy some of the world-class facilities on offer at the famous Quinta do Lago Resort.

World Golf Awards is a global initiative to recognise, reward and celebrate excellence in the golf hospitality industry.

Voting for the event closes on October 2nd, with World Golf Awards urging supporters to make their voices heard. Take a look at the full list of nominees here.

Having already generated sustained media interest, Destination Golf Travel is the latest industry leading title to sign up as a partner.

The publication joins International New York Times, Bloomburg Businessweek, andCNBC in partnering with the event.

To find out more head over to the official World Golf Awards website, or email Chris Frost to register to participate.

Notes to Editors

About World Golf Awards

World Golf Awards serves to celebrate and reward excellence in golf tourism, world class courses and golf destinations.

Golf tourism constitutes a vital segment in the global travel and tourism marketplace. The inaugural World Golf Awards will be hosted at Conrad Algarve in Portugal on 15th October 2014.

The worldwide voting process for 2014 begins on 20th June 2014 and closes on 2nd October 2014. Votes will be made by professionals working within the golf travel and tourism industry – senior executives, travel buyers, tour operators, agents and media professionals. Votes may also be cast by the public (golf tourism consumers). The voting works on a first-past-the-post system to ensure impartiality and independence. Votes are submitted online via the World Golf Awards website. The winners of each national category will go head-to-head with the winners of the other countries before the unveiling of the World Winners.

World Golf Awards is part of World Travel Awards, currently celebrating its 21st anniversary as "the Oscars of the travel industry".

Our global media partners include the leading brands: TV5Monde, International Herald Tribune, Newsweek and CNBC. This global media partner network has a monthly readership of 1.7 million and a TV audience reach of 90 million.

Event Partners

Media Partners

Our Other Awards